Someone Else's Farm

July 18, 2010

Blueberry Syrup

Filed under: what we did — Tags: , — M @ 10:40 AM

What to do, when one is faced with blueberries that must be used now but it’s already too warm inside to successfully make pie crust?

Here’s another hint: I made waffle batter last night. I prefer waffle batter with yeast, which gets made the night before you want the waffles. In the morning, all you need to do is heat the waffle iron, give the batter a quick stir, and you’re ready to go. The waffles from my recipe are very crisp and light when they first come off the iron. As they sit, they stay light but lose their crispness. When I make waffles, we eat what we can, and freeze the rest in a plastic bag. They warm and crisp up very nicely in the toaster oven. While I don’t particularly like fruit inside my waffles, I do like fruit and other embellishments on my waffles.

Blueberry Syrup, and tools to make it

I turned a pint of blueberries (not the pint we got in this week’s haul, but an older pint that was starting to look aged) into syrup, which can sit in the fridge or freezer quite happily for a while.

I started by going through the pint, and picking out any berries that were too far gone, removing any stems and a few leaves, and anything else that wouldn’t be good to eat, or cook into syrup. The berries got rinsed, put into a medium-sized saucepan (I’d rather minimize any chance of boil-over than clean the stove) with half a cup of sugar and a quarter-cup of water, and put on the stove over a medium flame. Once the sugar had dissolved and a few bubbles were appearing around the edge of the pan, I turned the heat down to low. I love my silicone heat-proof spatulas!

I left the mixture to simmer for about 15 or 20 minutes in all, stirring periodically, until most of the berries had burst. I admit I might have helped the bursting process along with my spatula. Then I turned the heat off, let the pot cool for a minute or two, and put the contents through a food mill set up with the finest disk. I squeeezed half a lemon into the strained syrup, mixed the lemon juice in, tasted a bit to be sure it didn’t need any adjustments, and then funneled it into a clean glass jar.

The cap on this jar is a plastic cap, made specifically for refrigerator or freezer storage rather than heat-processing. I find these easier to deal with than traditional lids and rings, and they can be put through the dishwasher and reused. Not to mention, they take masking tape labels well.

Waffles, here we come!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

