Someone Else's Farm

August 05, 2010

Week 07: List and suggestions

Filed under: pre-pickup — Tags: , , — M @ 15:56 PM

This week, the newsletter says we’re supposed to get:

  • Blueberries
  • Green Basil
  • Rainbow Chard
  • Chicory Greens
  • Sweet Corn
  • Cucumbers
  • Red Kale
  • Green Leaf Lettuce
  • Bunching Onions
  • Zucchini Squash

I’m beginning to wonder just how giant the fields of greens are, and if they’ll ever quit giving us kale. And I think that if they’re going to keep giving us kale and/or chard every friggin’ week, they need to give us more suggestions about ways to use them. I’m about kaled out by now, and we aren’t even halfway through our season share yet.

On the bright side, the blueberries we got last week have been wonderful. (Yeah, I know, I didn’t say anything about last week, or the week before. It’s coming.)

We got onions last week also. They looked nice and fresh, and had more bite than I was expecting. Bite is generally a good thing in onions, as far as I’m concerned.

One of this week’s suggestions was for a roasted lemon-basil chicken. This is exactly the sort of recipe I don’t really need, as I never have any trouble figuring out things to do with fresh basil. I’m also a little puzzled by the fact that the recipe calls for putting basil, garlic, and lemon slices between the skin and meat of the chicken, before the chicken goes into an oven for 45 to 50 minutes. I can’t imagine that the basil would have much impact on the flavor of anything, after that long in the oven.

The other recipe suggestion is for a zucchini pizza, where the zuke gets sliced into thick rounds, grilled, and used as the base for pizza sauce and mozzarella. I like this idea better. However, the next time I have zucchini to use up, I’m more likely to want to try a recipe I found in David Lebovitz’s blog for a zucchini cake with crunchy lemon glaze. (That’s assuming it’s cooled down enough to contemplate turning the oven on again!) One of the things that particularly appeals to me about this recipe is that all the dry ingredient measurements are given by mass. I wish the liquid ingredients were also given by mass. Oh well.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

