Someone Else's Farm

August 08, 2010

Week 08: list and suggestions

Filed under: pre-pickup — Tags: , , — M @ 11:17 AM

aka Greens, Greens, and More Greens. According to this week’s newsletter, the share is supposed to contain:

  • Blueberries
  • Green or yellow beans
  • Rainbow chard
  • Cucumbers
  • Garlic
  • Dino kale
  • Green leaf lettuce
  • Bunching onions
  • Zucchini squash
  • Sungold cherry tomatoes

Sigh: both chard and kale. Again. The newsletter also notes that they seeded their fields for fall: kales (plural), collards, broccoli, cauliflower, peppers, and “exciting new greens.” At this point, greens of any sort fail to excite me. There’s also a note that the winter squashes are doing well, so I can at least look forward to those. I wonder how well they’d go with cooking greens, which seem like they’ll never end.

The newsletter says, “Greens can be intimidating at times.” I long ago ceased to be intimidated by greens, and am now just sick and tired of them because, it seems, there’s only so much you can do with them and they all seem to taste alike, except that some are stronger-flavored, tougher, and in need of longer cooking than others. There is a new suggestion for greens this week: dice them, marinate with vinegar, as much cayenne as you can tolerate, crushed garlic cloves, sliced green onions, and grated ginger, for a fresh kimchi. They also suggest using collards and kales in soups that can be a quick and easy meal now, or frozen for later. That would be great, except that:

  1. I’m not really looking for hot soup when we’re in the middle of summer, and more often than not this year it’s been hot and sticky.
  2. I have enough other stuff in my freezer that I really don’t have room for soup. I’d rather use my precious freezer space for homemade stock that I’ve boiled down and concentrated so it takes less room, allowing me to make soup (or sauce, or just add flavor to other dishes) quickly and easily.
  3. If soup’s so quick and easy, why would I bother putting containers of it in my freezer anyway? I can make a quick and easy soup in the time it would take me to defrost already-made soup!

I’m at the point where I wish I had a compost heap to toss the greens in, because I really don’t want to eat any more of them for a little while. Or that somewhere in town would take them off our hands. I’m starting to think that for the next two weeks or more, the farm should take their entire harvest of greens to a soup kitchen and where someone who really appreciates them could have them. I’d happily take home a smaller amount of stuff for the privilege of not having to take home greens for a couple of weeks. They’ve been dominating my refrigerator of late, at least until they wilt down enough that they use less space and are not the first thing I notice when I open the refrigerator door. If I wanted to make a horror movie right now, I think I know what the big scary bad guy would look like.

We’ve been starting to see lots of fruit in the farmer’s market. Maybe the CSA farm could trade some of their greens for peaches, cherries, apricots, nectarines, or even some of the early apple varieties. Or tomatoes. It seems almost criminal to me not to have tomatoes included in a share in late July or any time in August.

Another suggestion relates to that other perpetual summer player, zucchini: grating some in with eggs, cheese, and ham. The newsletter comments that zucchini is versatile. This, I agree with. I wish greens were as versatile. And I wish they would swap the amounts of zucchini and greens they’re giving us. I haven’t even made one zucchini cake this year yet, because we haven’t had enough zucchini for me to use it that way, and we’ve been getting so much other produce that I hesitate to actually buy anything else, except for maybe fruits since we don’t seem to get any fruit other than blueberries in our shares. (I don’t have a recipe for a greens cake, unfortunately.)

And they suggest using cucumbers, garlic scapes, celery salt, and yogurt to make a summer salad. Which would be great if we had garlic scapes, but they aren’t on our list now.

If we’re getting cherry tomatoes, maybe I’ll actually eat some of the upcoming lettuce in a salad before it gets brown and slimy and goes into the trash can.

1 Comment »

  1. ooohh, I have so been where you are right now. The bright side is that chard and kale are both relatively mild greens versus some of the others that I’ve received. This week I minced chard and sauteed it with garlic and olive oil and then tossed it with pasta. My family warmed up to it when I sauteed it with a little veggie broth, onions and raisins. I also like green smoothies a lot and there are tons of recipes on the internet. Kale works really well in those.

    Comment by Tammy McLeod — August 08, 2010 @ 11:55 AM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

