Someone Else's Farm

August 28, 2010

Watermelon

Filed under: Uncategorized — M @ 09:18 AM

We cracked open our watermelon last night.

It was sweet and juicy, with a little bit of crunch. But that’s pretty much it. And there lies my main gripe about watermelon, and the reason why I don’t much care for it. It’s sweet and juicy. But that’s it. End of story.

I like sweet, but I need to have my sweet balanced with acid. Apple pie needs a good squirt of lemon juice. Peach cobbler is also tremendously improved by some lemon. I like coconut cookies with a tart lime glaze. And don’t forget about mango slices with a squeeze of lime (and a dusting of chile)! Even my mother-in-law’s sweet pasta salad, which I love, has a dressing of sugar and vinegar boiled together. I’ve been accused of making some rather tart ice creams in the past, largely because I dislike overly sweet things, and my sweetometer is apparently calibrated a little differently from my husband’s. (A couple of summers ago, I made a very tart concord grape sorbet, which I served alongside a peanut butter ice cream that I thought was a bit too sweet and really needed the tartness of the sorbet to be palatable. I loved the combination. He wasn’t as fond, but he’s not a big fan of peanut butter in his ice cream anyway.)

Speaking of frozen things, when I’ve had a watermelon in the past, I’ve been known to chunk it, run it through a food mill to get rid of the seeds (or if there’s a little kid around, get their help in picking the seeds out by hand), add a good dose of lime juice, and spin it into sorbet in my ice cream maker. I’ll sometimes add a splash of rum to keep it from freezing too hard, though I suspect my husband might prefer a splash of tequila. In the freezer, it lasts longer and doesn’t take up a whole shelf.

In this case, we cut it in half and gave one half to the neighbors. I think they appreciate watermelon more than I do, and they were planning on a picnic anyway. We each ate a slice of our half last night, leaning over the sink to make it easy to deal with both the dripping juice and the seeds. It’s supposed to be getting warmer this weekend. Which, if I’m going to eat watermelon at all, is when it’s best.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

